The governance and policy direction of the DAP is vested in, and its powers exercised by a Board of Trustees, which has the following responsibilities:  a) Prepare and adopt such rules and regulations as it considers necessary for the effective discharge of its responsibilities; b) Authorize the fields of human resources development, investigation, and major studies to which the available funds are allocated, without determining, controlling, or influencing the methodology of particular investigations or the conclusions reached; c) Constitute the Executive Committee, as defined; d) Appoint the President, and one or more Vice-Presidents to assist the President, in the administration of the affairs of DAP; and d) Review periodically the administration and the programs of the DAP.

In PD 205 and 1061, the DAP Board of Trustees was then composed of the following:1) Executive Secretary/Presidential Assistant; 2) Secretary of Finance; 3) Secretary of National Defense; 4) Director-General of NEDA; 5) Governor of the Central Bank of the Philippines; 6) Chairman of the Board of DBP; 7) General-Manager of GSIS; 8) Administrator of SSS; 9) President of PNB; 10) President of LBP; 11) President of DAP.

With the amendment in the DAP Charter by EO 288, under the Freedom Constitution on July 25, 1987, the present composition of the DAP Board of Trustees are eleven (11) Cabinet Secretaries/Heads or Representatives representing the following government agencies:

  • Office of the President of the Philippines (OP);
  • Department of Budget and Management (DBM);
  • Department of Education (DepEd);
  • National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA);
  • Civil Service Commission (CSC);
  • Department of Health (DOH);
  • Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR);
  • Department of Agriculture (DA);
  • Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR);
  • Department of Finance; and,
  • Development Academy of the Philippines (DAP).

While there are Cabinet members representing the above mentioned Departments/Agencies who attend DAP Board Meetings, the usual practice is that one of their Undersecretaries or Assistant Secretaries are named by the Secretaries as permanent or alternate representatives of their respective agencies in the DAP Board of Trustees.

The DAP Board of Trustees shall elect from among themselves the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Board.

PD 205 specifies that Trustees shall not receive any compensation or remuneration.  However, EO 288 authorizes Trustees to receive per diem as may be authorized for every meeting of the Board and its Executive Committee actually attended, in addition to reasonable transportation and representation expenses, subject to existing rules and regulations.

Board of Visitors

EO 288 created a Board of Visitors to be composed of the heads of the Government Financial Institutions (GFIs) which constitute the founding members of the DAP, namely: a) Chairman of the Development Bank of the Philippines (DBP), as ex-officio Chairman of the Board of Visitors; b) Governor of the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP); c) President of Government Service Insurance System (GSIS); d) Administrator of Social Security System (SSS); e) President of Philippine National Bank (PNB); and, f) President of Land Bank of the Philippines (LBP).

Executive Committee (ExeCom)

EO 288 states that there shall be an Executive Committee consisting of the DAP President and four (4) other members to be elected by the DAP Board of Trustees from the membership of the Board.  Members of the Executive Committee, other than the DAP President, shall hold office for terms of two years, unless at the time of election a shorter term is specified, and shall be eligible for re-election.  The Board shall elect the Chairman of the Executive Committee from the membership of the Committee.

Management Committee (ManCom)

Per Section 8 of the DAP Charter (PD 205), the President of DAP is its Chief Executive Officer. The DAP President, who is a career official occupying a permanent plantilla item, attested by the Civil Service Commission (CSC),  has security of tenure and no fixed term of office.

The powers and duties of the DAP President are to: a) submit for the consideration of the Board of Trustees and the Executive Committee the policies and measures which he believes to be necessary to carry out the purposes of the Academy; b) recommend, coordinate, and administer the programs and projects of the Academy; c) direct and supervise the operations and internal administration of the Academy, and to delegate administrative responsibilities in accordance with the rules and regulations of the Academy; d) submit and annual report to the Board of Trustees setting forth the work of the Academy during the year, its financial operations and status, and a program and budget for the ensuing year; and e) exercise such other powers and to discharge such other functions as may be vested in him by the Board of Trustees and the Executive Committee.

As an ex-officio member of the DAP Board of Trustees, the President of DAP provides the continuity and the link between the policy decision-making body (the DAP Board) and the policy implementation and day-to-day operations (Management).

The President is assisted by Senior Vice-Presidents and Vice-Presidents managing the Operating Groups and Centers of DAP.  Program and Administrative Offices under each Center are the headed by designated Directors and Managers, as the case may be. Since DAP is primarily a Project Organization, the Project Teams, headed by Project Managers, are organized and operate for the duration of the project.  While Project Managers exercise administrative supervision over the Project Team, technical supervision over the project is the responsibility of Supervising Fellows.



BOT Committees (2021)

1. Executive Committee (created by law P.D. 205 DAP Charter)

Chairman: CSC
Members: DBM, NEDA & DAP President

2. Audit Committee

Chair: DOF
Members: DBM & NEDA

3. Governance Committee

Chair: CSC
Members: DBM, NEDA & DAP President

4. Nomination and Remunerations Committee 

Chair: DepEd
Members: DBM & NEDA

5. Risk Management Committee 

Chair: NEDA
Members: CSC & DBM