Tagaytay City, April 11, 2024 – The Development Academy of the Philippines (DAP) proudly marked the culmination of the Public Management Development Program’s (PMDP) Middle Managers Class Batch 31 – Karakoa and Senior Executives Class Batch 12 – Sikhay, as 63 scholars concluded their transformative journey during the 28th Graduation Ceremony.

Dr. Majah-Leah V. Ravago, DAP president and chief executive officer, reiterated the pivotal role of DAP in nurturing visionary government leaders, empowering them with the requisite skills and perspectives to drive innovation and development in their respective agencies. 

The event culminated with the conferment of academic equivalencies upon the scholars, symbolizing their profound commitment to excellence and service to the nation. Notably, four scholars from each class distinguished themselves with honors, including Jerry Cruz of the Department of Education (DepEd), Wilfimell Tolentino-Macaraeg of the Development Bank of the Philippines, Erick John Marmol of the Philippine Science High School System, and Caridad Santos of the Philippine Children’s Medical Center from the SEC Batch 12. Similarly, Jeanne Marjorie Oliveros of the Philippine Council for Agriculture and Fisheries, Julia Jornales of the DepEd, Maria Veronica Eslao of the National Economic and Development Authority, and Melpe Jean Maghanoy of the Department of Social Welfare and Development of MMC Batch 31 graduated with honors. 


The esteemed titles of Class Valedictorian were awarded to Enrique Gascon, Jr. of the DSWD and Mary Cherry Lynn Tabernilla of the DepEd for their for the SEC Batch 12 and MMC Batch 31, respectively. Gascon further distinguished himself by clinching the  Leadership Award and Outstanding Capstone Paper Award. Similarly, Fermo B. Avila of the Securities and Exchange Commission was honored with the Leadership Award for the MMC Batch 31, while Mark Anthony Viernes (DSWD), Dan Henry Ramirez of the Maritime Industry Authority, and Michelle Loyolo of the Philippine Deposit Insurance Corporation were lauded for their outstanding Capstone Projects.

Reflecting on their transformative journey, Gascon and Tabernilla delivered Valedictory Addresses, reminiscing on shared trials and triumphs while emphasizing the paramount importance of ethical leadership, meaningful connections, and personal growth.

The solemn recitation of the pledge, led by PLTCOL Anthony Landig, chief of staff to the DILG Undersecretary, symbolized the scholars’ steadfast commitment to upholding the values of integrity, excellence, and public service.  Members of MMC Batch 29 – Talaghay, Batch 30 – Sillag, and SEC Batch 11 – GaBayAni  welcomed the new alumni.

As a testament to scholars’ legacy, brass markers were unveiled for both batches, immortalizing their names on the hallowed halls of DAP Conference Center in Tagaytay City.